Old Shoes

Standard

Have you ever been digging around in the back of your closet, looking for something long lost in the corner and happened upon an old pair of shoes?

Not just any pair of shoes…your favorite pair of shoes. 

You pull them out, quickly forgetting what you were looking for to begin with, and slide your favorite pair of shoes onto your feet…and your feet just sigh.

That is sort of how I felt tonight when I happened upon my old blog.  It’s been forever since I posted here.  Somehow life just got so busy that I had to stop writing about it.

I think I’m going to try to change that…I miss this outlet.

I realize that I am most likely the only person on the planet who will read this, but I also realize that my kids will read it someday.  And if that is my only audience I will have done what I set out to do.

So what has changed since I last posted here?  Tons.

I live in a new place.

I’m looking down the barrel of one of my children being an “adult” and one being a teenager.

My brother has come to live with me.

My church and my God have become central in my life.

I’ve made new friends.

I’ve gained new pounds.

I’ve gotten a haircut.

I’ve gotten older.

I’ve lost some pounds.

I’ve navigated IEP’s and 504’s and have come out the other end relatively unscathed.

I’ve gained back the lost pounds.

I’ve found a new appreciation for the bee gee’s and Abba.

And most of all, I’ve lived.

So, now that I have my old shoes back on…I’m going to do my best to keep them on and do this more often.

But right now, I have a full cup of diet coke and Xanadu is on Netflix.

Time to get my Olivia Newton-John on.

Peace!

Leave a Reply

