Just ask…

Standard

Being a Christian can sometimes be hard.

See, by our very nature, we rely on faith alone.  We believe and hold tight to things that are intangible.  We cannot see Jesus’ face.

We cannot hear His voice audibly tell us that all we believe is truth.  We cannot feel His almighty hands touch our shoulders and tell us that all will be well oneday.

All we can do it believe.

All we can do is have faith.

All we can do is ask Him to help us make it from day to day.

And often times, we feel like the very one we cling to for assurance is distant.

(Yes, we know better..but it does sometimes feel that way.)

Sometimes we feel all but abandoned in this maze we call life.

Being a Christian father and husband has to be the toughest job there is.

As the father and husband, it falls on the man’s shoulders to provide for and be responsible for the spiritual well-being of his wife and children.

Lately, this has really been weighing heavy on my darling husband.

Over labor day weekend, Brian and I talked in depth about our faith and how we really felt we needed to make God the center of our family.

We need to spend more time in the Word.

We need to spend more time in prayer.

As a family.

These are activities we tend to do on our own..in our own time.

And sadly, most of the time our children don’t even open their bibles until Sunday morning.

And it’s not something we want for them.

Because we KNOW that they will need the Lord to carry them through some tough times in their lives.

And Brian, as their earthly father, wants to lead by example.

We discussed the myriad of ways to do this, and one thing that came up in our conversation was Brian’s need for direction in this area.

I can sympathize with his plight.  How do you spiritually lead your children down the right path when you are a “baby” in your faith as well?

It is a heavy load to carry, I assure you.   I do not envy my husband’s role.

We went to church today with little expectation that we would hear a very loud and clear answer to a prayer we didn’t even realize we had prayed.

We arrived, sang, and sat for the announcements.

And then Corey said something that nearly knocked me out of my chair.  His wife had asked him to pre-screen some books for the upcoming mom’s group to study.  And Corey had read them and, to make a long story short, had realized that the best book of the group was something that DAD’S needed to read.

He felt compelled to start a dad’s group.  To help father’s learn to spiritually lead their children.  To show them how to teach them.

It was wonderful!  But there is always that pesky problem of Brian’s schedule.  Working nights makes it hard for Brian to attend much of the programs the church offers.

Then Corey announced that this group for dad’s will meet at 6am….did you catch that?  6am!!!   Brian will be able to go straight from work to church and attend dad’s group!!!

I am convinced my heart skipped a beat. I couldn’t breathe.  I glanced at Brian and saw the same look I was sure I was making right back at him.

In an instant, the words “Ask and ye shall receive” flashed into my head.

It melted my heart.

I knew, right then, that God had heard our plea…even if we hadn’t directly asked…and had answered in a big way.

We hadn’t even really asked I suppose…but I know that God was listening anyway.

And for me, seeing my husband rest in the knowledge that eventhough his load is heavy and his responsibility great, God will be there to help carry that load…it was just amazing.

After we got home from church, I felt compelled to look up those words that had flashed through my head.

I knew that our Pastor had instructed us to start reading Luke tonight..but I had to find that scripture….I had to share it with Brian.

So I went online (to bible.com…it’s awesome for looking up random scripture) and typed in the words I had very clearly heard in my head this morning.

I found them.

And where I found them, yet again took my breath away….

Luke 11:9-10 (New International Version)

9“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 10For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

Guess I’ll be reading Luke after all.

All you have to do is ask……

One response »

  1. Beautiful! I love those moments when you know that you know that God has spoken. He has intervened. He has heard us… even if we haven’t yet asked or don’t even know what we need. Praise Him! I’ll be praying for you and Brian, and I know we’d appreciate your prayers as well.
    Love you all!

Leave a Reply

