The “H” family takes a holiday..

Standard

Well, not technically a holiday.

And you can pick yourself up off the ground now.  I know it’s been forever since I posted here. Stop being overly dramatic.

I’ve been busy.

Life and kids and stuff.

You know the drill.

Anyway.

Today when we got up, I decided that the LAST thing I wanted to do was stay cooped up in the house for yet another day.

I needed to get out.

I needed to step away from the internet.

I needed to interact with my kids and my hubby.

So we decided to make a day of it!

We couldn’t really think of anything specific to do, so we decided to go somewhere we never venture…downtown.

I have to tell you, it is fun to walk around like a tourist in your own town.  Look at things with fresh eyes and really see your city.

We ended up going to River front park.  We’ve been there before, but it’s always fun to go again.

And it had been a while.

We started our day with a walk down to visit Uncle Jimmy at his pawn shop.  It’s always nice to see his smiling face and there are always a few things we can find at the shop to drool over.

Clayton found a camera.

And folks…I almost cried..

it’s a NIKON.

I have taught him well.

It’s that fancy little coolpix with the touch screen LCD display.

Pure awesomeness…for a point and shoot.

I’d totally own it.

I think he might just get it for Christmas this year.

It’d be much better if Clay was behind the camera…you will understand why in a minute.

So, anyway, after we visited with Jimmy we headed down the street to our lunch destination.  Brian and I knew where we were going, but we decided to keep the kids guessing..

The walk was fun though. I played paparazzi..

dayout1

“Um, excuse me..no pictures please!”

Reason 1 that clayton should not be in front of the camera…he always blocks the shot.

I did manage to get a pic of the family walking…minus the “super star” who can’t be photographed…

dayout2

Cool huh?

So..we get to the restaurant and the kids were in awe.

Now, this will tell you how often we go out to eat at a place that doesn’t have a drive through..

We were at olive garden.  And the kids were incredibly excited.

M’Kayla said “wow mom, this place is fancy!”  As we waited in the lobby for our seat:

dayout5

I thought it was sad that a few benches and some ginormous planters in a hallway constitute “fancy” to her..poor kid!

I just said “It’s really not all that fancy..now come sit over here at this little table so I can take your picture again.”

So she did…still not buying that the place wasn’t fancy and that there wasn’t some grand special occasion at hand.

See the skepticism?

dayout3c

Clayton wasn’t buying that Brian and I weren’t up to something either.

He wanted to know what the special occasion was.

So he got my attention the only way he knows how:

dayout4c

It only would have been better if he had yelled “TOASTY!” when he did it.

(If you can name the source of that…you get a cookie!)

Anyway, after I smacked the teenager for ruining my shot..He started quizzing me while rubbing his head…

Clay: “Mom, why ARE we here?  What’s the OCCASION?”

Me: “There is no “occasion”… I just wanted to do something fun and nice today.”

Clay:  “I’m not buying it… are you guys *GASP* having another baby?!?!”

(a look of horror was on his face…I wish I’d have had the presence of mind to take a picture of it.)

Me: “NO WAY!!! AIN’T HAPPENING!”

Clay: ” *Phew!* Good…so what is it?  OMG! Did you and dad arrange a marriage for me????!!!!”

At this point I simply could not respond. I could also not breathe. I was laughing too hard.

This kid is a riot sometimes.

I mean, where does his mind come up with these things??? Arranged marriage??

Goofy kid.

I finally caught my breath and explained, yet again, that there was no hidden agenda. I just wanted to have a nice lunch with my family.  And that was when our buzzer went off to tell us our table was ready.

Saved by the buzzer!

So, we went in and got settled and got our drinks and decided what we wanted for lunch.

I wanted a calamari appetizer…so I got one.

The kids wanted to try it too…But they also wanted to know what it was.

I told them I’d tell them as soon as they tried it.

I’m mean like that.

Rick wasn’t too sure:

dayout6

But he was a champ and tried it..and LOVED it.

So we spent the next few minutes with the kids trying to guess what it was.

Rick guessed Shrimp

Clay guessed scallops

M’Kayla guessed octapuss.

Close enough!  I decided that since they had eaten half of the appetizer, it was time to tell them what it was.

So I did.

And they didn’t flinch.

I love my kids.  They will eat/try anything.

So, we ordered our lunch and the salad and breadsticks arrived.

My favorite part!

YUM:

dayout9

dayout10

Clayton approves:

dayout8

Rick discovered that if you put your fist above a breadstick, it makes a lowercase “i”

I love that kid:

dayout11

Before we knew it, our lunches had arrived.  Brian and I had the soup/salad/& breadsticks.

I ate his breadsticks.  I have no will power.

I also had yummy soup:

dayout12

Minestrone..YUM!

Anyone care to guess what M’Kayla had????

SPAGHETTI..DUH!

dayout13

That girl is a pasta eating machine!

We all had a fantastic lunch, the food was good and it was so nice to spend some time with “just us”.

Clayton kept me in stitches. Every time I’d try to take his picture, he’d make a goofy face. (reason 2 for him to shoot..and not be shot)

dayout16

I’m pretty sure I’m gonna hack his facebook and myspace accounts and post this as his profile pic on all of them…awesome!

And then I did something I NEVER do.

I handed Brian the camera and told him to take some pics of me and Clay.

Warning…fat chick pics ahead!

dayout14

I am so sorry to have to subject you to this….

dayout15

Not only am I fat, I obviously beat my children.  No wonder people are seldom surprised to see me in Wal-mart.

Consequently, after seeing these images, that plate in front of me?

Last.

meal.

ever.

I’m going on a strictly liquid diet.

or maybe an air diet.

Anything to get less gross.

ew.

Anyway, enough of my self depreciation, back to our day out!

We finished up our lunch and tipped our fantastic waiter and headed across the street to the park.

Of course, the first stop was the carousel!

dayout18

dayout17

I wish I had pics of the boys on the carousel,but they decided to sit on a bench instead of a horse, so I couldn’t take any shots of them.

I suspect they did it on purpose.

After the carousel ride was over, we walked around the park and took in the sights:

dayout21

dayout22

dayout24

dayout31

Then we went to check out the rides and the IMAX movie.

Rick was bummed because we didn’t have time to watch a movie, but they are having a special on Friday, so I promised to take him then.

He was skeptical..skepticism runs in the family I guess…

dayout23

So I made it up to him by taking them all for a shaved ice:

dayout25

Clayton approves again:

dayout30

And Rick is no longer skeptical:

dayout29

He is, however, quizzical.  He was trying to figure out how they shaved the ice.

I swear his brain never stops working….ever.

After the shaved ice, it was time to go.  We had a great time.  I had a blast talking to my kids and my husband.

I think we really needed the day to reconnect.  It seems we are all going in fifty different directions lately and it was nice to just spend time with each other.

And as a bonus…I got this:

dayout28 copy

she is too pretty. Just too pretty.  I’m jealous.

Of course, I also got this:

dayout16

That image made the whole day and the expensive lunch all worth it.  I am CERTAIN this pic will pop up in random places for years to come.

But that’s what he gets for suggesting I might be pregnant.  The poop.

Anyway.

There is my epic-catch-up-post.

Sorry I’ve been away for so long.

I’ll try to come back more often.

Until next time………….

Leave a Reply

