The “money stealer’s”

Standard

My little boy.

Such an imagination, he never fails to keep me rolling with laughter with some of the things he comes up with.

Today, for example, he was out on the porch, standing there, in his jammies…looking menacingly at some young men who happened to be walking down the sidewalk.

There was a group of about 4 of them.

They were dressed in all of the latest attire…if you are a gangsta that is.

Now, while I cannot say that I am in the least impressed with kids who walk around with their britches around their knees, or shirts that are about 30 sized too big…to each their own I figure.

But back to Ricky.

I hollered at him:  “Rick, what are you doing out there in your jammies?”

He replied: “I’m keepin’ my eye on them money stealer’s!”

I said: “what? Come in here and tell me what you said.”

He comes in the house and says:  “mom, them was money stealer’s…I was keepin my eye on them.”

I said: “what are “money stealer’s”?

He says:  “they are guys that steal your money…”

I said: “how do you know they steal money?”

He says: ” Because they have that money sign on their hats mom…they are money stealer’s.”

It took me a second to figure out what he meant.

Then, of course, I had to explain that those hats don’t mean they steal money…they mean they like money.

I had to laugh at him, but really, he has quite an idea there….if everyone who committed a crime, wore a hat with some sort of symbol on it that distinguished what crime they committed…it’d sure be easier to “keep an eye” on them.

I’d love to say that my little man is completely wrong about these young men, but sadly, they are trouble makers.

I’m just glad that I know I have instilled a strong sense of right and wrong in my little man…strong enough that he felt the need to keep an eye on those guys….to watch out for what is his.

To have the courage to stand there, on the porch, at five years old. And without a word, convey to those boys that this is HIS house and to get in here you would have to go through HIM.

I hope he’ll always stand up for what is right.

One response »

  1. “I had to laugh at him, but really, he has quite an idea there….if everyone who committed a crime, wore a hat with some sort of symbol on it that distinguished what crime they committed…it’d sure be easier to “keep an eye” on them.”

    That would certainly take away from the forgiving process.

Leave a Reply

