Just breathe it in!

Standard

We had a thunderstorm move through the area today.

That is sort of unusual for Washington, really.

But I have to say, I just love them…

Ok, not so much the storms, I still cannot shake the little twinge of fear I get having grown up in “tornado alley”

But I love the way the earth smells after they move through.

So fresh and washed clean.

I imagine that is how it must smell in heaven all the time.

Fresh, clean, new and exciting!

I can’t, actually, think of many other smells that are quite so wonderful as the world after a summer rain.

On my list are:

  • the smell of the head of your newborn child. Nothing sweeter on earth.
  • the smell of a barn, full of horses and sawdust and leather.
  • the smell of my hubby’s pillow.
  • new car smell (ok, that one is silly..but I love that smell!)
  • the smell of a campfire and any food that is cooked over it.
  • the smell of sheets that were dried on the line.
  • the smell of irises, they remind me of summers spent riding a borrowed bike down the broken up sidewalk in Bellville Kansas.
  • the smell of the county fair, a mixture of cotton candy, popcorn, exhaust from the rides and livestock.
  • the smell of the pages of an old, well used bible.
  • the smell of coffee brewing.
  • the smell of homemade bread baking.
  • the smell of pipe tobacco.
  • the smell of my grandma’s house..always smells like home.

So, what smells can you think of that just make ya roll your eyes back in your head and breathe deep?

Leave a Reply

