Hey Joe! Why are you so sloppy?

Standard

I love sloppy joes.

Used to eat them all the time growing up.

So one day I was looking for something new to cook for the fam.

And I saw this recipe on the back of a can of tomato soup…campbell’s of course.

(because any other is just icky. )

It said it was tex-mex.

I’m all about the tex-mex.

So we tried it.

It’s not so “tex-mex”…but it sure is gooooood!!!

And quick.

And cheap.

All of the requirements needed for a recipe to make it into my repertoire.

So I will share it with you.

Hope you like it!!!

(oh, and sorry in advance for the awful pics. My camera hates being used indoors and protests via not taking good pics…with or without flash…no matter what setting is used.)

Mexi-sloppy Joes.  

Here is what you will need:

photoclasspics-014.jpg

  • 1lb. Ground beef (or turkey, or chuck,or pork, or veggie crumbles..something ground.)
  • 1 can tomato soup
  • 1 cup salsa or picante  sauce.
  • about 1 cup grated cheddar cheese.
  • Hamburger buns.

This is what you do with it:

First, brown and drain the ground beef…

photoclasspics-004.jpg

Whilst you are cooking said cow, grate your cheese into a bowl. (or, if you are lazy, open the bag of pre-shredded stuff you bought. I grate mine..it’s cheaper. Really. Do the math.)

photoclasspics-026.jpg

Now that you have grated your cheese (or opened your bag).  Drain your beef and place it back into your skillet.

Add the tomato soup and the salsa.

Now, here is where I cheat…instead of dirtying up my measuring cup, I just use the empty tomato soup can to “measure” the salsa. One can of soup..one can of salsa. It works.

photoclasspics-018.jpg

Stir this all together in the skillet and let it simmer for a bit.

What?

You need a time frame for the simmer?

Um…till it’s warm.  Or I guess five minutes. I don’t time it…I cook it.

You will end up with something like this:

photoclasspics-019.jpg

Now, when you are ready to serve, spoon some of the mixture onto a bun and top it with cheese. (not the bun..the mixture.)

I serve mine with fries and a salad.

The salad was late to the party here. So he isn’t in the picture. But see there..there is a space for him on the plate.

photoclasspics-031.jpg

So, there is my (ok, well…Campbell’s) recipe for mexi-joe’s.  Hope you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

