Sorry.

Standard

I’m sorry about yesterday’s post. I’m sure it was less than fun reading for all of you. But I do feel better having gotten that all out and getting several hours of uninterrupted sleep last night.

Much better.

So, today I’m lurking around some scrapbooking blogs. I read them. Yes I do.

One of the ones I read is Ali Edwards. I don’t read it often anymore. But on occasion I stop by and take a looksey.

Today, I was reading and she had posted a quote. I’m not sure where she found it. I have never heard it before. But it was wonderful and I wanted to share it with all of you.

“To live content with small means; to seek elegance rather than luxury; and refinement rather than fashion; to be worthy, not respectable; and wealthy, not rich; to study hard, think quietly, talk gently, act frankly; to listen to stars and birds, to babes and sages, with open heart; to bear all cheerfully, do all bravely, await occasion, hurry never; in a word, to let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious grow up through the common. This is to be my symphony.”

William Henry Channing

Isn’t that just a lovely quote? It really speaks to me. It is truly what I strive for in my life. Though lately I have to admit to being caught up in the “gotta have more and better” mindset.

Why, just two days ago I was feeling all down in the dumps and pouting because I really want new furniture.
Isn’t that silly?

Ok…to be fair, I want new furniture because my love seat is broken. The big board that supports the seats has decided it will no longer take the position of supporting our rather large backsides. And while I certainly cannot lay blame with the love seat, I wouldn’t want to hold my large arse up either, it is unfixable and uncomfortable and I think certainly makes my longing for new furniture legitimate.

But still. Why is it that we are never really satisfied? Why is it that we allow other people to influence our perception of what we “need”?

Of course, there is the flip side of that. Why do we feel the need to make ourselves feel superior by spewing a laundry list of what we have vs. what they have???
I’m guilty. I’ve done it. I hate that I have, and I know people who seem to thrive on doing it. But why? Why can’t we just be happy with what we have been blessed with and not be resentful of other people who have been given just a bit more?

And really…do they have more??? Sometimes I don’t think so.

So, I am going to try to remember this quote. I am going to try to emulate what is being said here.
I want to “live content within small means”.
I want to “seek elegance rather than luxury”

Hopefully I can do that…after all, the good book tells us to!
Just read proverbs!

Do not wear yourself out to get rich; have the wisdom to show restraint. Cast but a glance at riches, and they are gone, for they will surely sprout wings and fly off to the sky like an eagle.”
Proverbs 23: 4-5

One response »

  1. It is nice that you have a way to express your feelings that you feel comfortable with, think of it that way.

    As for todays “lesson” I agree. I don’t have a lot, but I am happy with what I have, I am rich in love and proud of that! Just remember material items don’t make you a better person.

    Need before Greed.

    “The Happiest people don’t have the best of everything; they just make the best of everything. So please remember: Live simply. Love generously. Care Deeply. Speak Kindly. Leave the rest to God.” – Unknown

Leave a Reply

