From 60 to zero in one word…

Standard

I have a horrible headache.
My eyes are puffy.
And I should be happy.
I really should.

Brian bought me a new-ish van yesterday. I say new-ish because it isn’t brand new..but it still has that new car smell.

My very first new-ish car.

It’s a 2006 ford freestar (which is completely deceptive advertising, there was nothing free about it.)
It is blue.
It is pretty.
It is niiiiice.

We had to go to Pasco to get it last night. Turns out freestar vans are hard to find…turns out they are all sold out of them.
But we found one.
I have my McVan.
I am totally getting a vanity plate that says that…McVan.

It totally fits with my McLife.

So I get my new-ish McVan last night and I’m all happy when we get home from Pasco. But there are 6 messages on my machine.
Two from home.
Something is wrong.

So at 1:00 am central time, I called my mom.
She asked me if I was sitting down.
I was.
Then she said it….Uncle Mike has stage three lung cancer.
There was that word…
cancer.

I went from 60 to zero in one word.
Cancer.

I am still in shock.
I want to call him…but what do you say?
What I want to say is I wish I could make it go away for him.
I wish that I had a magic wand that would make him completely healthy.
I wish I hadn’t grown distant from him these past years because my reaching out to him now might seem like too little too late.
I want to let him know how much he means to me.
How I used to pray that someday I’d find a man like my uncle to marry.
(and how I did)
I want to tell him that I’m praying that he will be ok.
That I’m praying that he will make it through this.
About how this world would be a horribly dark place without “Miguel zee franch waiteer” serving us at thanksgiving.

I really want to know why this happens. I know it isn’t for us to question…and there is a plan at work here.
But why?
He is a good man.
He is active and usually takes good care of himself.
He has never (that I know of) smoked.
Why Mike?
I guess I probably won’t know the answer to that until I can ask God myself. And then, eventhough it makes no sense to me now, I’ll understand.
But for now…I am just really confused, and sad, and scared, and mad.
And I want to call my uncle.

Please say a prayer for him and his family. He has two young kids too.
He just turned 47.

Sometime when it’s not raining and I’m not so down…I’ll share a picture of my new McVan.
Until then…I’m off to try to get rid of my headache.
Call the people you love today, let them know you care.
Life can go from 60 to zero with just one word.

One response »

Leave a Reply

