What exactly is a picture worth?

Standard


Pictures.

Photography.

It really isn’t a complex thing when you get down to it. Someone has a camera. Someone poses. the shutter button is pressed and a moment in time is captured.

But sometimes, a picture is worth much more.

Brian and I watched “Flags of our Fathers” last night.

The movie was what I expected it to be…the story of the soldiers who were captured in one of the most famous photographs in American history….the raising of the Flag on Iwo Jima.

The movie was a “typical” war movie…lots of guns, blood, sadness, friendship, honor, loss, victory, and even a little defeat…everything that war is.
But at the end of the movie, when the credits were rolling…they showed photographs.

Pictures.

Pictures of faces.

And for me…questions.
Who were these people? Who was that man in that photo who looked no more than 17?
Did he make it?
What were their stories?
Who were their parents?
Did they have a family back home?
Did his wife get “the knock”?

There were endless faces in those pictures.
Endless “what if’s”

And for me…more questions.

What photograph will come out of all of the snapshots being taken today that will define this moment in history?
Will my grandchildren look back at photographs from this war and wonder about the people in them?
How many unanswered questions will these images provoke in the generations to come?

For me, I know that I cannot change what is going on in the world.
I cannot stop this war.
I cannot prevent the “knocks”.
But I can have a better understanding of the anatomy of a photograph…

See, I used to take pictures to get “the perfect, publishable shot” for my scrapbook pages.

But now I know that what is important is the life that is captured in those shots…because in an instant that life could be gone…it could be history.

So, for now, I plan to capture every moment I can. And do my best to tell the story behind that moment.

THAT is what scrapbooking is about my friends.

THAT is what your pictures are worth.

Leave a Reply

