Changes and catching up…

Standard

Yes…I know…it’s been a loooooong time since I’ve posted. So if anyone is still reading this thing…I am sorry for being away so long.
Life has gotten difficult for us lately.
Well, not difficult like we lost a job or anything like that…
and I’m not whining..I just havn’t had time to post on my bloggity-blog.
So, I’ll do my best to catch everyone up on the happenings here.

First of all. I had to give up my two design teams. It was such a tough decision to make..but I didn’t feel like I could give 100% to either of them, so rather than do things half-assed, I decided to resign.
Turns out that was a good thing.
Lately my heart just is not into my scrapping.
As a matter of fact, I have been asked to be a guest designer for www.memoriesinuniform.com for October. And as soon as I complete that obligation, I think I will take a break from scrapping.
At least until things settle down a bit.
(oh…and you should check out their products if you need to do any military themed pages…awesome products!!!!!)
The biggest thing going on right now is the house.
It is such a loooong story, I’m not sure where to start.
In a nutshell, the realtor quoted us a price that the seller never agreed to.
So we went and got a loan for it.
We told our kids we were getting to buy our house.
Then the owner called….
Our happy little house dreams were shattered.
Things still aren’t resolved.
It’s a total mess.
I’m a total mess.
Then there is my Grandmother.
Some of you may know that her doctor suspects that she has Alzheimers disease (I say suspects because it is undiagnosable until death…but I know that is what she has)
And so many things are happening in her life that I feel horribly guilty for not being there for her.
I promised I would be there.
And now I can’t be.
And now no one calls her anymore. I’m not sure what anyone’s reasoning is for that (by anyone, I mean her children…they are the ones who don’t call anymore..or come visit.) Is it because they are trying to avoid the truth? Is it because they are afraid? Is it because they don’t want to be bothered?
I truly hope it’s not the latter.
If it is…these are not the people I thought they were.
At any rate…that is not the most disturbing part.
Her husband.
He is mean to her.
She fell and he left her to crawl to the phone.
he hit her.
She is terrified of him.
and there is nothing I can do about it.
I am here..and she is in Kansas….and I have no way to get to her.
and I hate that.
Anyway…that is weighing heavily on my heart.
Then my friend Libbie…she is losing her mother. Yet another person I care about that I am so far away from. (((Hugs))) Libbie.
And to top it all off…I quit smoking.
Yes, I know…that is something to be happy about!!!
But it is HARD!!!
I’ve been smoke free for a week and a half now and it is officially the hardest thing I have ever done.
The cravings are horrible.
But I want to be healthy!!!!
Now if only I could figure out a way to stop substituting food for the smokes! (I’m pretty sure I’ve put on 10 pounds since I quit!)
So…you may ask, aside from all of this negativity, what else is going on?? It can’t be that bad right???
RIGHT!!!!
The good things:
1. I quit smoking!!! I feel better and (maybe not such a good thing) food tastes better, the air smells better…life is just better!!!
2. We found out that we are able to get a much bigger home loan than we ever imagined…God knows what we need and as usual is providing…God always provides!!!
3. My family is healthy…and happy…and safe. I am always thankful for that!!!
4. Racing season is almost over!!!!!!!!!!

That is all I can think of for now…I will make sure to update more often. God bless you all!!!!

2 responses »

  1. Such a lot of sadness for one person to go through. You’re right though, you’re not alone. God takes care of His own.

    Have you considered calling adult protective services in the town where your grandmother lives? They will investigate what is going on and put your grandmother in a safe place if she needs it.

    Don’t loose hope on your home owner dreams. There always seems to be a stumbling block before you come out victorious. Just think how much sweeter victory is going to be once you make it through.

    God bless,

    Debbie (former member of Scrapaddict with you)

  2. Oh Christi…I am so sorry to hear about your grandmother. I can only imagine how hard it is on you but there certainly must be someone you can contact in her county to deal with elder abuse…so so sad.

    Congrats on quitting smoking and all the new changes in your life…I miss you terribly and cant wait to catch up when things slow down xoxox

    ~Share

Leave a Reply

