Mirrors people…PLEASE!!!!

Standard

Close your eyes and imagine….your car…shiny and new…rolling off the assembly line somewhere far, far away (if it’s american made, either here, canada or mexico. If not…I am so sorry. *snicker* ) Now imagine this man, or woman, in a nice little clean set of coveralls comes over with something in his or her hand….they slide into the front seat….
lean over……
and suddenly adhere this strange looking little thing smack dab in the center of your windshield!
What do you suppose it is???
What do you suppose it’s for???
It’s an interesting little do-dad isn’t it??? You can see yourself in it!!!

Ok…so until today, I had always suspected that that little magic mirror had something to do with seeing behind you.

Evidentally not.

They have these nifty little carts at our local store that have plastic “cars” on the front of the….so the kiddies can drive while you shop. And having a three year old son who eats, sleeps, and breathes NASCAR….they are a Godsend!!! (bear with me here…I’ll get back to the mirror in a sec.)

So today I go to the store, buckle my precious little boy into his “car” cart and do my shopping.
Then we pay…and walk out the doors.
So as I’m walking to my van….all of a sudden, I hear an engine rev and look up from reading my reciept (yeah…I know..I should have been watching) just in time to see the bumper of a 1980-ish, run down car headed right for the general area of my childs HEAD.
I screamed “HEY!!!!” and jerk Ricky, cart and all, out from behind this car that had been parked there, turned off, mere seconds ago.

There…sitting in the front seat…yacking to her friend and not paying a BIT of attention to where she was going or what she was doing, was this itty bitty all of 20 years old heifer. (Ironically, with two babies buckled in the back)

do you think I got an “oh my gawd I am so sorry!!!” Nope. Nothing. Nada. Zip. Zero. Zilch.
Just a dirty look and an eyeroll.
Scuse me????
I don’t think so.

Which brings me back to the nifty little do-dad adhered to your windshield…..
I (not so) politely told her that I had the perfect place to put that mirror and would be oh so happy to assist her with insertion.
(ok…I did NOT word it that way…but I’m trying to keep this blog clean)

So please…the mirror is there for a reason…use it.
I just do not get it….I just don’t.
The rudeness….it just astounds me.
And I had done nothing wrong.
Yet I had somehow wronged her by being behind her car in a PARKING LOT.
What is this world coming to?
Oh well…I guess that is another post for another day. In the meantime, I think I’m going to go hug my baby…and I’ll never read another reciept again.

Leave a Reply

