Monday, Dec.19th

Standard

Wow, what a weekend we had!!! Saturday we went to the local tree farm to pick out our Christmas tree. It was soooooo much fun walking through all those trees, spending some quality time as a family. This was the first year we all went to the tree farm together and I believe this will be a Christmas tradition for us from now on! After walking around for about 20 minutes we spotted our tree! Brian and Clayton cut it down (yes..I got pictures!) and we strapped it to the top of the van. Then we went in to pay and had some hot cocoa. We brought the tree home and it is now standing in my living room all decorated and just waiting for presents!!!
Then on Sunday, we went into town to get some new lights and more NASCAR ornaments, then we came home and decorated! After that, Clayton went to a friends birthday party and Brian, M’Kayla, Ricky and I went sledding. It was sooooooooo much fun!!! It was just a wonderful weekend all the way around. A nice little break from the hustle and bustle of the holidays.
I have officially decided to take a break from scrapbooking. I KNOW that I won’t always do work that will be good enough to be picked up for publishing, and I know I won’t always make the DT’s. But I have had a lot of rejection lately, and as much as I’d like to tell you it doesn’t bother me, it does. I still have two DT applications out there, but I’m not holding my breath. If I do make one of them…I will do the job with all of the gusto I usually put into scrapping, but unless and until I make one of those teams….I’m going to step back for a little while. I think everyone needs a break from time to time and I think my time is right now. Maybe I will feel differently after the holidays are done with. All I know is that I need a break from the “try my guts out-get rejected” cycle I’ve been in lately. I am not really sure why my work hasn’t been desirable lately. I can only guess because my style isn’t really “in” right now…or maybe I’m just not doing quality work right now? I dunno. All I know is that I’m trying too hard and forcing myself to compete with people who have access to unlimited scrapping supplies, high dollar cameras, and amazing talent. And I just cannot compete with that! LOL! So for now, I’m going to scrap for me. No more calls, no more submitting. I’m going to take the time to learn to love the hobby again….and should something happen in the meantime…I will accept with open arms….but I’m done stressing about it. Hmmmm…that may sound terribly conceited and spoiled of me to say…but I’m not trying to “pout”….I’m not doing a “woe is me” thing. I know I have some talent…I just want it to mean something again. Wish me luck!!!
Well, I still have a ton of Christmas shopping to do. I did manage to send out some gifts to family out of state today…so at least I’m ahead of the game there!!! I still have to send Christmas cards though. Someday I will do what I ALWAYS say I’m going to do and have things done by November and ready to mail out the first week of December! I hate this last minute rush!!! Hope everyone else is done shopping!!
Well…I’m off to try to wake up my sleeping little boy…it’s only 7pm..and if I let him sleep, I will be up all night!!!

Leave a Reply

